Steelman Symposium to Honor Gary L. Johnson

Pharmacology is sponsoring the Steelman Symposium in honor of Gary L. Johnson, Kenan Distinguished Professor, who was Chair of Pharmacology from 2003-2016.

When May 15, 2018 from 01:00 PM to 05:30 PM (EST / UTC-400)
Where 1131 Bioinformatics
Contact Name
Web Visit external website
Add event to calendar iCal


1:00 – 1:15
Opening Remarks - T. Kendall Harden, PhD, Distinguished Professor Emeritus (U. of North Carolina - Chapel Hill)

1:15 – 2:00
Keynote: Roger J. Davis, PhD, FRS (HHMI, U. of Massachusetts Medical School)  Stress signaling in the mammary epithelium

2:00 – 2:20
James S. Duncan, PhD (Fox Chase Cancer Center) Defining K-Ras mutation specific kinome signatures & vulnerabilities in colorectal cancer

2:20 – 2:40
Amy Abell, PhD (U. of Memphis) Epigenetic regulation of epithelial- mesenchymal transition in stem cells and Claudin-low breast cancer

2:40 – 3:00
Coffee Break

3:00 – 3:45
Keynote: Michael P. Czech, PhD, (U. of Massachusetts Medical School) Adipocyte to neuron crosstalk to control systemic metabolism

3:45 – 4:05
Ellen Weiss, PhD (U. of North Carolina - Chapel Hill) A tale of two kinases and other stories

4:05 – 4:25
Lynn Heasley, PhD (U. of Colorado HSC) Finishing off the leftovers: Searching for druggable vulnerabilities in oncogene inhibitor-reprogrammed residual disease

4:25 – 5:10
Keynote: Shelton Earp, MD (U. of North Carolina - Chapel Hill) Mer receptor tyrosine kinase: From discovery to targeting in cancer cells & the innate immune system

5:10 – 5:20
Closing remarks - Henrik G. Dohlman, PhD, Chair, UNC Pharmacology

5:20 – 6:20
Wine and Cheese Reception in the Bioinformatics Lobby