36th Annual UNC Lineberger Scientific Symposium

UNC Lineberger’s 36th annual scientific symposium drew large crowds, with over 450 participants.

The “Cancer Therapies and New Drug Targets” meeting was chaired by Stephen Frye, PhD, professor of medicinal chemistry and director of the UNC Center for Integrative Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery in the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Session chairs were Dr. Frye, Nancy Raab-Traub, PhD, Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, and Brian Strahl, PhD, associate professor of biochemistry and biophysics.

Speakers were James Bradner, MD, Harvard University; Robert Copeland, PhD, Epizyme, Inc; Stefan Knapp, PhD, University of Oxford; Douglas Lowy, MD, National Cancer Institute; Helen Piwnica-Worms, PhD, Washington University in St. Louis; and Bernard Roizman, ScD, the University of Chicago.

Kevan Shokat, PhD, University of California, San Francisco, and Paul Workman, PhD, FMedSci, FSB, the Institute of Cancer Research (UK) delivered Lineberger Lectures. 

UNC speakers were Dr. Frye, Gary Johnson, PhD, Kenan Distinguished Professor and Chair Pharmacology, and Angelique Whitehurst, PhD, assistant professor of pharmacology.

Joseph S. Pagano, MD, spoke on “The Epstein-Barr Virus: A Four-Decade Odyssey.” Prior to his talk he was presented with the 2012 Hyman Battle Award.

Many thanks to our symposium sponsors

Leadership Sponsor


Supporting Sponsor


Associate Sponsor

Agilent Technologies

Gilead Sciences

NC Biotechnology Center


Agios Pharmaceuticals

Cell Signaling Technology

Burroughs Wellcome Fund

The Hamner Institute for Health Sciences


Myers Bigel Sibley & Sajovec, P.A.

Liquidia Technologies

 Photo Gallery

Trouble viewing photo captions? Here's how!