Patterson elected President of the Association of Professors of Cardiology

The chief of cardiology in the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and member of UNC Lineberger has been elected president of the Association of Professors of Cardiology.

Cam Patterson, MD, MBA, associate dean, Health Care Entrepreneurship, physician-in-chief, UNC Center for Heart and Vascular Care, and chief, Division of Cardiology, was selected by his peers to serve as president of the APC through 2014.

Patterson is an Ernest and Hazel Craige Distinguished Professor of Medicine at UNC.  Most recently, he was named as the recipient of the 2012 Judah Folkman Award from the North American Vascular Biology Association.

Patterson’s research focus is the investigation of the processes of angiogenesis, cardiac failure, and atherosclerosis.

The Association of Professors of Cardiology promotes the professional development of its members, leads the effort to train cardiovascular specialists, and strives to be the voice of academic cardiology.