2013 UCRF Innovation Awards announced

UCRF Competitive Grants Program 2013 Innovation Awards were chosen from 51 applications. The awards provided $1,180,000 to support research among the six winners.

Abstracts of the award winners can be read at the Innovation Awards websiteThe recipients are as follows:

W. Kimryn Rathmell (MD, PhD, Medicine, Genetics) - "Exploiting DLL4 Inhibition as a Mechanism to Overcome Antiangiogenic Resistance in ccRCC"

Timothy Gershon (MD, PhD, Neurology) - "Developmental Origins of Therapeutic Response in Medulloblastoma"

Timothy Elston (PhD, Pharmacology) - "Defining the Genomic and Epigenomic Plasticity of Basal and Claudin-low Breast Cancer"

Ronald Chen (MD, MPH, Radiation Oncology) - "Building and Characterizing the North Carolina Bladder Cancer Cohort: Defining Quality of Life and Potential Health Care Needs During Survivorship"

Federico Innocenti (MD, PhD ,UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy) - A Phase II UGT1A1 Genotype-guided Study of Irinotecan in Metastatic Colorectal Cancer Patients Receiving FOLFIRI + Bevacizumab

Maureen Su (MD, Pediatrics, Microbiology & Immunology) - "Autoimmune Regulator as a Genetic Determinant of Ipilimumab Response in Melanoma"

Date: July 23, 2013