2014 Oncology Excellence Awards

Each year, faculty and staff of the Oncology Service Line nominate and select Oncology nurses and service staff to be recognized for their excellence in care for cancer patients. Nominations are now being accepted for 2014 UNC Lineberger Oncology Excellence Awards, in memory of Charmayne Gray.

These annual awards recognize employees at UNC who are devoted to the care of individuals with cancer and to the oncology specialty.  There are separate categories for nursing and administrative staff.

Awards are given based on:  Leadership, Mentoring, Community Involvement, Education, Clinical Expertise, and Interpersonal Skills.  Winners will be awarded $1,500 in educational grants. 

The Oncology Excellence Awards are given in memory of Charmayne Gray, an oncology nurse practitioner in our Clinical Cancer Center who died in an auto accident in 2002.  Charmayne exemplified the best of who we are as care givers: diligently providing outstanding care and attention to each patient during this stressful time of illness.


Nomination Deadline: Friday, October 17th, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. 

Submit Nomination for the 2014 Oncology Nursing Award

Submit Nomination for the 2014 Oncology Service Award

Wondering how to identify a nominee?

Check out this list of criteria that might help