Cancer Transitions

Cancer Transitions is a free program that runs for 4 weeks. Each weekly session lasts for 2 - 2 1/2 hours and includes information on nutrition, exercise, coping with stress, and medical care, plus delicious healthy snacks. This program is open to cancer patients who have completed treatment and their loved ones. For more information, call 919-966-9519 or contact your area's representative.

UNC Lineberger’s Comprehensive Cancer Support Program (CCSP) is now offering locations across the state for their 2016 spring series of Cancer Transitions:  Moving Beyond Treatment™.  Ten new locations have been added with more to come in the next year. If you can’t make it this spring, contact the group leader in your area and ask to sign up for future programs.  Find the location nearest to you and note the starting date and time for your area.  Register with the contact person for your group. 

 Cancer Transitions

  • Asheville:  SECU Cancer Center, Mission Hospital.  Contact:  Carol Logan-Thompson (828) 213-2504 or carol.thompson@msj.org.
  • Burlington/Greensboro Cone Health Cancer Center at Alamance Regional: Contact Doris Cardwell at  Doris.Cardwell@conehealth.com or 336-586-3737
  • Chapel Hill: UNC-Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center: Contact: Jen Hanspal 984.974.8100  (Resource Center)  l  984.974.8106  (Office)  l  919-216-1325 (Pager) or jhanspal@unch.unc.edu
  • Chapel Hill (IN SPANISH):  UNC Center for Latino Health/Latino Clinic(CELAH): Contact: Claudia Rojas at claudia_rojas@med.unc.edu or (984) 974-5800
  • Charlotte:  Novant Health.  Contact:  Tara Ballard  at (704) 384-5560 or tmballard@novanthealth.org.
  • Charlotte (IN SPANISH) : Carolinas Healthcare. Contact Magbis Love at magbis.love@carolinashealthcare.org or 980-442-6362
  • Concord: Carolinas HealthCare System, Levine Cancer Institute (Cabarrus Co.) Contact Betsy Clark, LCSW OSW-C        betsy.clark@carolinashealthcare.org or 704-403-2393
  • Durham:  Duke Cancer Institute.  Contact: Denise Spector at (919) 613-9608 or email denise.spector@duke.edu
  • Garner/Raleigh: Rex Hematology Oncology. Contact either Loreal Massiah loreal.massiah@unchealth.unc.edu  or (919) 784-6120
  • Hickory:  Frye Regional Medical Center.  Contact:  Melissa Teague at (828) 315-5092 or Melissa.Teague@tenethealth.com.
  • Nags Head:  Outer Banks Hospital.  Contact:  Marie Neilson at (252) 449-4554 or Marie.Neilson@theobh.com
  • New Bern:  Coastal Carolina Health Care, New Bern Cancer Care.  Contact: Kim Hess at (252) 636-5135 or khess@cchealthcare.com.
  • Rocky Mount:  Nash Cancer Center.  To learn more and register:  Delphine Wiggins at (252)962-8908 or dcwiggins@nhcs.org.
  • Spruce Pine:  Cancer Care of Western North Carolina.  Contact:  Debbie Crain at (828) 253-4262 X 3380 or debbiec@cancercareofwnc.com.
  • Sylva:  Cancer Care of Western North Carolina.  Contact:  Cancer Care of Western North Carolina. Will restart in Fall 2016. Contact Michelle Manning at 919-843-5806 or mmanning@unc.edu 
  • Winston-Salem:  Cancer Services Inc.  Contact:  Julie Lanford at (336) 760 9983 or julie.lanford@cancerservicesonline.org