Cancer Transitions

Cancer Transitions is a free program that runs for 4 weeks. Each weekly session lasts for 2 - 2 1/2 hours and includes information on nutrition, exercise, coping with stress, and medical care, plus delicious healthy snacks. This program is open to cancer patients who have completed treatment and their loved ones. For more information, call 919-966-9519 or contact your area's representative.

UNC Lineberger’s Comprehensive Cancer Support Program (CCSP) is offering locations across the state for the 2016 fall series of Cancer Transitions:  Moving Beyond Treatment™.  If you can’t make it this fall, contact the group leader in your area and ask to sign up for future programs. Find the location nearest to you and note the starting date and time for your area. If starting date not listed, please contact group leader for more information. Register with the contact person for your group.  You can click here to download the flyer. 

Cancer Transitions

-Arden, NC: Begins Saturday, 10/1, 10a,-12:30pm at Mission-Pardee Campus. Contact Catherine Desfosses at
journeytobefreenaturally@gmail.com,  Phone: 828-771-0885 Email:

 -Asheville: Begins 9/27-10/5 Tuesdays 4pm-6:30pm at SECU  Cancer Center, Mission Hospital. Contact: Carol Logan-Thompson (828) 213-2504 or carol.thompson@msj.org.

 -Burlington/Greensboro Begins 09/15 Thursday at Cone Health Cancer Center at Alamance Regional: Contact Doris Cardwell at 
336-586-3737 or Doris.Cardwell@conehealth

  - Chapel Hill: Begins Tuesday 9/13 at 1:30pm-3:30pm,  UNC Comprehensive Cancer Support Program: Contact: Jen Hanspal 984.974.8100 (Resource Center) 984.974.8106 (Office) 919-216-1325 (Pager) or jhanspal@unch.unc.edu

 -Chapel Hill (IN SPANISH) Begins Thursday 09/29 6:00pm-8:30pm. UNC Center for Latino Health/ Latino Clinic(CELAH): Contact: Claudia Rojas at claudia_rojas@med.unc.edu or (984) 974-580

 -Charlotte: Novant Health. Begins Tuesday 09/20. Contact: Tara Ballard at 704- 384-5560 or tmballard@novanthealth.org.

 -Charlotte (IN SPANISH) : Carolinas Healthcare. Begins Monday 10/10 6pm -8:30pm at Carolinas Healthcare. Contact Magbis Love at magbis.love@carolinashealthcare.org or 980-442-6362

 - Concord: Begins Tuesdays 10/4 5:30-8:00pm at Carolinas HealthCare System, Levine Cancer Institute Contact Betsy Clark, LCSW OSW-C betsy.clark@carolinashealthcare.org or 704-403-2393

 -Durham: Begins Tuesday 10/4 at Duke Cancer Institute. Contact: Denise Spector at 919- 613-9608 or email denise.spector@duke.edu

 -Franklin: Begins 10/25-11/15 at Cancer Care of Western North Carolina. . Contact Rachel Thelen at rthelenfnp@gmail.com 

 -Garner/Raleigh: Rex Hematology Oncology. Contact Loreal Massiah at loreal.massiah@unchealth.unc.edu or 919- 784-6120

 - Greenville: Begins 10/5Wednesday 5:15-7:30pm at  Vidant Cancer Care. Contact Jenny Higgins at  Jennifer.higgins@vidanthealth.com or 252-847-7943.

 -Hickory:  Begins mid-October at Frye Regional Medical Center. Contact: Melissa Teague at 828- 315-5092 or Melissa.Teague@tenethealth.com

 -Morehead City: Begins Tuesdays 10/4 5pm-7:30pm. Carter Health Care. Contact Gail Russell at grussel@ccgh.org or 252-499-6642 or Melissa Hamilton at  mshamilton@ccgh.org

- Nags Head: Outer Banks Hospital. Contact: Marie Neilson at 252- 449-4554 or Marie.Neilson@theobh.com

 - New Bern: Begins Monday 9/26 at Coastal Carolina Health Care, New Bern Cancer Care. Contact: Kim Hess at 252- 636-5135 or khess@cchealthcare.com.

 -Raleigh: Duke Raleigh, Begins Thursday 10/13 4:30-7:00pm. Contact: Jane Worrell at jane.worrell@duke.edu or 919-862-5458

 -Rocky Mount: Begins Thursday 9/29 at 4:30pm -7:00pm at Nash Cancer Center.  To learn more and register: Delphine Wiggins at 252- 962-8908 or dcwiggins@nhcs.org.

 -Spruce Pine: Begins Wednesday 9/28 at Cancer Care of Western North Carolina. Contact: Debbie Crain at 828- 253-4262 x 3380 or deb-biec@cancercareofwnc.com.

 -Sylva: Begins Friday 9/30/ at Harris Regional Hospital. Contact: Sherri Watterson at swatterson5@gmail.com or 813-713-0609

-Winston-Salem: Begins Thursday 10/13. Cancer Services Inc. Contact: Julie Lanford at 336- 760 9983 or julie.lanford@cancerservicesonline.org

 -Winston-Salem (IN SPANISH): Begins 9/20 Tuesdays  at Cancer Services Inc. Contact: Gloria Hall at 336- 760 9983 or gloria@cancerservicesonline.org