E. Claire Dees

E. Claire Dees, MD, is a UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center member and Professor of Medicine at UNC-Chapel Hill in the Department of Hematology and Oncology. She specializes in breast cancer and early phase clinical trials.

E. Claire Dees

UNC-Chapel Hill
Clinical Research
Breast Cancer
UNC Breast Center

Chapel Hill

Clinical profile

Area of interest

Dr. Dees completed her internship and residency in internal medicine at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston and her medical oncology fellowship training at the Johns Hopkins Oncology Center where she worked with the Phase I trials group and the breast cancer program. She has a masters degree in clinical trials research. She has been a member of the faculty at UNC since 1999. She is a practicing medical oncologist, an active member of the UNC breast center, and  the founding chair of the Developmental Therapeutics  (Phase I trials) Working Group at UNC. She is the co-leader of the Clinical Research Program at UNC LCCC.

Dr. Dees' research focuses on breast cancer and novel therapeutics. She is also interested in studying inter-individual differences in chemotherapy associated toxicity. She is currently the lead investigator or co-investigator for a number of early phase clinical trials of new anti-cancer drugs and combinations for the treatment of patients with refractory solid tumors. She is also the principal investigator for several clinical trials of treatments specifically for early stage and metastatic breast cancer. She is the UNC principal investigator for our Experimental Therapeutics Clinical Trials Network consortium (with Duke and Wash U).  She is the principal investigator for the cooperative group NRG at UNC as well as a co-chair for several national trials through the cooperative group ALLIANCE. She has been a member of the program planning committee for ASCO and  the editorial board of the Journal of Clinical Oncology. She is a member of the Pharmacology and Pharmacogenomics  committee of the cooperative group ALLIANCE  and she is a member of the American Board of Internal Medicine's Medical Oncology Board Certification committee. She has been awarded a Patient Oriented Research Career Development Award from the NIH, and R21 grant, foundation grants, and numerous clinical trials contracts.  She has authored or co-authored over 70 articles.

Awards and Honors

  • Best Doctors in America®, 2007, 2012,2014, 2015
      • UNC Health Care and Faculty Physicians Award for Carolina Care Excellence, 2015
        • Komen Scientific Advisory Council member 2010-present
          • 2010 Fellow, Academic Leadership Program
            • 2007 UNC Planetree Physician Champion Award
              • 2002 K23 Patient Oriented Career Development Award
                • 2001 Doris Duke Clinical Scientist Development Award

                Link to Publications on Reach NC site