2013 Innovation Awards

UCRF Competitive Grants Program 2013 Innovation Awards were chosen from 51 applications. The awards provided $1,180,000 to support research among the six winners.

Title: Building and Characterizing the North Carolina Bladder Cancer Cohort: Defining Quality of Life and Potential Health Care Needs During Survivorship
PI: Ronald Chen, MD, MPH
Department: Radiation Oncology
Category: Population Science 
Title: Defining the Genomic and Epigenomic Plasticity of Basal and Claudin-low Breast Cancer
PI: Timothy Elston, PhD
Department: Pharmacology
Category: Team Science 
Title: Developmental Origins of Therapeutic Response in Medulloblastoma
PI: Timothy Gershon, MD, PhD
Department: Neurology
Category: Basic Science
Title: A Phase II UGT1A1 Genotype-guided Study of Irinotecan in Metastatic Colorectal Cancer Patients Receiving FOLFIRI + Bevacizumab
PI: Federico Innocenti, MD, PhD
Department: UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Category: Clinical/Translational 
Title: Exploiting DLL4 Inhibition as a Mechanism to Overcome Antiangiogenic Resistance in ccRCC
PI: W. Kimryn Rathmell, MD, PhD 
Department: Medicine, Genetics
Category: Basic Science 
Title: Autoimmune Regulator as a Genetic Determinant of Ipilimumab Response in Melanoma
PI: Maureen Su, MD
Department: Pediatrics, Microbiology & Immunology
Category: Clinical/Translational