Skip to main content

The multidisciplinary Steering Committee is the CCEP’s governing and advisory body. Chaired by the CCEP Director, the Steering Committee includes the CCEP Co-Directors and faculty representing different constituencies. The members are experienced researchers and mentors. Current members include:

Jo Anne Earp, ScD — Research Professor of Health Behavior; former Co-Director, CCEP.

Steve Hursting, PhD — Professor of Nutrition and UNC Nutrition Research Institute; CCEP mentor.

Andrew Olshan, PhD — Professor and Chair of Epidemiology; Program Leader, Cancer Epidemiology, UNC Lineberger; Director, Cancer Epidemiology Training Grant; CCEP mentor.

Deborah Porterfield, MD, MPH — Research Assistant Professor of Social Medicine; Director, UNC Preventive Medicine Residency Program and its ACS-funded cancer prevention and control training program.

The Steering Committee has eight major functions that constitute governance of the CCEP. fellow recruitment, selection, and matching; training plan design and review; fellow review and evaluation; review and evaluation of the core curriculum; program evaluation; placement; mentor recruitment and selection; and reporting.