Skip to main content

This year’s speaker was Dr. Brooke McCartney, associate professor in the department of biological sciences at Carnegie Mellon University. She completed her postdoc training in the lab of Dr. Mark Peifer.

Talks by Dr. McCartney and postdocs were followed by a poster session and a reception.

Posters were judged by faculty members and meeting attendees. Winners of the poster session competition were:

1) Matt Walker – $200
2) Carmina Valle – $150
3) Stephen McDaniel – $100
4) Viewers choice: Richard Moffitt – $50

Gregg Robbins & Erich Kushner were selected as best talk winners, and each received $100.

This year’s Research Day was organized by the UNC Lineberger Postdoctoral Committee: Drs. Polly Chugh, Scott Rothbart, Nate Siegfried, and Maria Bednar.

Dr. Brian Strahl serves as faculty advisory to the group. Dr. Joseph Pagano is training grant PI along with Dr. Buddy Weissman.

Dr. Strahl expressed the following: “The Postdoc-Faculty Research Day was a great success. The talks were all outstanding, along with the rich and diverse science covered in the poster session. This was a true example of the great science being conducted by the faculty, postdocs and students at UNC. The event was also a great opportunity for the presenters to gain valuable feedback and insight into their work. In all, the 37th annual event exceeded all expectations and we all look forward to next year’s Research Day.”

Photo Gallery