Skip to main content

Stergios Moschos, MD, associate professor and UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center member, is among 11 physicians from across the country to receive the National Cancer Institute (NCI) 2014 Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award.

Stergios Moschos, MD

The 2014 awardees were formally announced today by James H. Doroshow, M.D., NCI Deputy Director for Clinical and Translational Research, at the NCI Clinical Trials and Translational Research Advisory Committee Meeting. This highly competitive award recognizes exceptional cancer investigators for their contributions to the advancement of clinical research through collaborative team science.

“This award is such a well-deserved recognition for Stergios’ exceptional clinical research in melanoma, one of the most deadly forms of skin cancer,” said Lisa Carey, MD, division chief of hematology and oncology at the UNC School of Medicine, and physician-in-chief of the N.C. Cancer Hospital. “He has already done so much to promote a successful clinical research culture here at UNC, and I look forward to seeing his research and clinical trials directly benefit our cancer patients.”

NCI’s Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards recognize and support outstanding mid-career clinical investigators at NCI-designated cancer centers who participate extensively in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials and whose leadership, participation, and activities promote a culture of successful clinical research. Established in 2009, the awards are intended to help retain investigators in academic clinical research careers.

This year, 11 investigators nationwide have received the award. Each of these investigators is a full-time faculty member who is a board-certified physician and has practiced medicine between 3 and 10 years post-fellowship.

Moschos joined UNC in January 2012 to advance translational melanoma research, focusing on identifying molecules that are important for melanoma development and progression and identifying mechanisms of action of FDA-approved and investigational agents in melanoma.

Additional awardees include:

  • Neeraj Agarwal, M.D., University of Utah Huntsman Cancer Institute
  • Robert Chen, M.D., City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Michael Gibson, M.D., Ph.D., Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Case Western Reserve University
  • Theodore Hong, M.D., Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center
  • R. Kate Kelley, M.D., UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Araz Marachelian, M.D., M.S., USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Rita Nanda, M.D., University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Daniel Persky, M.D., University of Arizona Cancer Center
  • Erin Reid, M.D., M.S, UCSD Moores Cancer Center
  • Teresa Rutledge, M.D., University of New Mexico Cancer Center