Skip to main content

UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and UNC Cancer Care honored four employees with 2013 Excellence Awards.

Oncology Execellence Awards

Nurse navigator Melissa Holt and nurse practitioner Blaine Brower received the 2013 Nursing Excellence Awards, while radiation therapist Anne Camp and clinical pharmacist Aimee Faso received the 2013 Clinical Services Excellence Awards.

Lisa Carey, MD, physician-in-chief of the N.C. Cancer Hospital and professor of medicine, said, “We are fortunate to have dedicated and compassionate professionals serving our patients and families. This is one of the reasons I am proud to work here, but it also makes it harder to choose who among our consistently excellent nurses and staff to recognize with these awards. We deeply appreciate the high standards of care exhibited by our honorees, and by all those at the N.C. Cancer Hospital.”

Dr. Carey is the Richardson and Marilyn Jacobs Preyer Distinguished Professor of Breast Cancer Research and associate director of UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Blaine BrowerBlaine Brower, RN, MSN, FNP-BC, is the inpatient nurse practitioner for surgical oncology. The 13-year UNC Health Care employee took a newly created position two years ago to coordinate inpatient care for surgical oncology patients. One of her nominators explains, ”Blaine is the cornerstone for inpatient surgical oncology care at UNC. Her ability to coordinate care among patients, families, nursing staff, ancillary providers, residents and faculty is priceless.” She adds, “ She serves a large role in education, not only for patients and families, but also for nursing staff and physician trainees. Her seemingly boundless energy and positive attitude make her ideally suited for this role.”

Melissa HoltMelissa Holt, RN, BSN, OCN, is the oncology nurse navigator for the Genitourinary Medical Oncology Service in the Urologic Oncology Program. She has worked with UNC cancer programs for six years as an inpatient nurse and now as a nurse navigator. A nominator notes, “She is loved by the patients and always provides excellent medical care along with much needed emotional support to all patients.” Another says, “Her background in social work prior to becoming a nurse uniquely positions her to guide patients and families through the entire continuum of cancer care. “

Anne CampAnne Camp, RT, is a radiation therapist who has worked in the UNC Radiation Oncology Department for 25 years. Her department nomination describes her: “Ms. Camp is considered to be a radiation therapy clinical expert by her peers and is an excellent mentor for our radiation therapy students.” They state, “She is the embodiment of what a radiation therapist needs to be for our patients. Our patients and families continuously have positive comments about her.“

Aimee FasoAimee Faso, PharmD, BCOP, is a clinical pharmacist practitioner for the oncology infusion clinic where she provides first-cycle chemotherapy counseling for patients beginning their chemotherapy treatments. She has worked at UNC for five years. One nominator says, “Aimee has been a valuable resource and educator for patients, nurses, pharmacists and physicians. She has impacted patients and those she works with through her hard work, dedication to her profession and her patients, her thorough knowledge of oncology pharmacy and her ability to educate and lead others – attributes that exemplify the Oncology Service Award.”

Winners of the Excellence Awards receive a $1500.00 stipend for professional education activities. The Oncology Nursing Excellence Award is presented in memory of Charmayne S. Gray, an outstanding oncology nurse practitioner who died in an auto accident in 2002. The Clinical Services Excellence Awards are in their tenth year.

Date: Dec. 18, 2013