Skip to main content

The American Society of Clinical Oncology and Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation, recognized UNC Lineberger faculty and trainees at ASCO’s annual meeting, which was held in Chicago, May 31-June 1. The meeting attracts more than 40,000 cancer attendees from around the world, making it the largest clinical cancer research meeting in the world.

Merit Award

The Merit Award recognizes oncology trainees and students whose research is addressed in high-quality abstracts submitted to the ASCO Annual Meeting and recognized for their scientific merit.

Yara Abdou, MD

Headshot of Yara Abdou.
UNC Lineberger’s Yara Abdou, MD.

Career Development Award

First awarded in 1992, the Career Development Award provides three years of research funding to clinical investigators in the first to third year of faculty appointment to establish an independent clinical cancer research program.

Christopher E. Jensen, MD, MS

Headshot of Christopher Jensen.
UNC Lineberger’s Christopher Jensen, MD, MS.

Young Investigator Award

The Young Investigator Award was established in 1984 to support promising young physicians with research funding to during the final years of training and to help them prepare for transition to a faculty appointment and to encourage quality research in clinical oncology.

  • Jeffrey Jensen, MD, PhD
  • Ryan Morse, MD
  • Shawn Yu, MD, PhD