Skip to main content

Four UNC Lineberger members have been elected 2021 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), one of the most distinct honors in the scientific community. With this new class of fellows, there are now 13 current UNC Lineberger members who have been awarded this honor.

AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. It is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Headshots of Stephen Frye, Amy Gladfelter, Alexander Kabanov, and David Margolis
From top left, clockwise: Stephen Frye, PhD; Amy Gladfelter, PhD; David Margolis, MD; and Alexander Kabanov, PhD, DSc.

The new UNC Lineberger fellows are:

Stephen V. Frye, PhD, Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy and director of the Center for Integrative Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery, for his distinguished contributions to the field of oncology drug discovery, including new treatments for benign prostatic hyperplasia, metastatic breast cancer, renal carcinoma and soft tissue sarcoma.

Amy S. Gladfelter, PhD, professor of biology in the departments of biology in the UNC College of Arts & Sciences and cell biology and physiology in the UNC School of Medicine, for her distinguished contributions to the field of cell biology, particularly in the areas of phase-separated condensates and the biophysics of the septin cytoskeleton.

Alexander V. Kabanov, PhD, DSc, Mescal S. Ferguson Distinguished Professor and director of the Center for Nanotechnology in Drug Delivery at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, for distinguished contributions to the field of nanomedicine and drug delivery including the use of polymeric micelles, polycation complexes, macrophages and exosomes to treat cancers and diseases of the central nervous system.

David Margolis, MD, Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology at the UNC School of Medicine, professor of epidemiology at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health and director of the HIV Cure Center, for distinguished contributions to the field of virology, particularly for making key discoveries on the mechanisms of HIV latency and devising new strategies to find a cure for HIV infection.

“AAAS is proud to bestow the honor of AAAS fellow to some of today’s brightest minds who are integral to forging our path into the future,” said Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer. “We celebrate these distinguished individuals for their invaluable contributions to the scientific enterprise.”

AAAS plans to host a celebration for the 2021 class of AAAS Fellows, which includes 564 scientists, engineers and innovators from around the world, when public health guidelines allow for safe in-person events.