Oncology Excellence Awards celebrate compassion and commitment

North Carolina Cancer Hospital's Tony Williams Lobby was filled with friends, family and colleagues to celebrate Deborah Ballard, RN, MSN, ANP-C, OCN, Kristi Geib, RN, MSN, CPNP, CPON, Pearl Langhorne, and Jennifer Spring, RD, CSO, LDN, who received 2016 Oncology Excellence Awards.

Oncology Excellence Awards celebrate compassion and commitment click to enlarge This year's Oncology Excellence Award winners (left to right) Kristi Geib, RN, MSN, CPNP, CPON, Jennifer Spring, RD, CSO, LDN, Deborah Ballard, RN, MSN, ANP-C, OCN, and Pearl Langhorne

Friends, family and colleagues gathered in The Tony Williams Lobby of the North Carolina Cancer Hospital on Oct. 6 to celebrate four members of the UNC Health Care staff who were honored at the 2016 UNC Lineberger Oncology Excellence Awards. 

“Each year since 2002, faculty and staff of the UNC Oncology Service Line nominate and select oncology nurses, allied health professionals, and administrative staff to be recognized for their excellence in the care of cancer patients and their caregivers,” said Lisa A. Carey, MD, N.C. Cancer Hospital’s physician-in-chief, a UNC Lineberger member and the Richardson and Marilyn Jacobs Preyer Distinguished Professor in Breast Cancer Research.  “These awardees have set an example for all of us within the practice of oncology to aspire to, and it’s a privilege to work with them each and every day.”

Recognition was given in two categories:

Nursing Excellence

Deborah Ballard, RN, MSN, ANP-C, OCN – Ballard works as a nurse practitioner in Outpatient Supportive and Palliative Care and has served in Oncology Services at UNC for 11 years.  She has a reputation as an innovator in the area of patient education and for being an advocate for her patients and their families.

Kristi Geib, RN, MSN, CPNP, CPON – Geib is a pediatric nurse practitioner in the Pediatric Hematology Oncology division at UNC.  An 18-year veteran of Oncology Services, she is known for her compassion, her work ethic and her commitment to going the extra mile for patients, families and co-workers.

Service Excellence

Pearl Langhorne – Langhorne is an administrative officer in the N.C. Cancer Hospital Oncology Finance and Compliance department.  She joined UNC Oncology 14 years ago and is the epitome of warmth, kindness and understanding – attributes that uplift our patients and make them feel heard.

Jennifer Spring, RD, CSO, LDN – Spring is the outpatient clinical dietitian in the Comprehensive Cancer Support Program and has been a part of the UNC family for 10 years.  She is dedicated to her patients’ well-being and provides a specialized level of nutritional support they need in a non-judgmental, practical way.

The four recipients were among 23 nominees for the Oncology Excellence Awards.  Other nominees included:

  • Maurice Alexander, PharmD, BCOP, CPP
  • Justin Bullock, Administrative Specialist
  • Megan Couch, RN, BSN, PCCN, OCN
  • Amy DePue, RN, BSN, CBCN, OCN
  • Eileen Francis, Health Unit Coordinator
  • Deanna Griffie, RN, BSN, ONC
  • Meredith Keisler, CPP, BCOP
  • Nancy Kirkman, Carolina Care Service Coordinator
  • Mary Knowles, RN, MSN, APN
  • Mallory Lexa, RN, BSN, OCN, CNIV
  • Melissa Matson, RN, MSN, AGPCNP-BC, AONCP
  • Amy Mellow, CST II
  • Amber E. Proctor, PharmD, BCOP, CPP
  • Robin Rivera, Administrative Associate
  • Kathy Sabo, BSN, RN, CPHON, CNIII
  • Terri Saunders, RN, OCN, CNII
  • Ynette Spain, RN, BSN
  • Tammy Triglianos, ANP, AOCNP
  • LaTonya Williams, Social Clinical Research Assistant

The Oncology Excellence Awards are given annually in memory of Charmayne S. Gray, an oncology nurse practitioner who died in an auto accident in 2002.

Thanks to the Oncology Excellence Awards Steering Committee members, Pam Baker, Jenny Hanspal, Erica Morales, Loretta Muss, Tina Shaban, and the volunteers for making it a great event.