Skip to main content

UNC Lineberger Building in Chapel Hill, NCThe Graduate Fellow Awards in Basic Science is an annual competitive award available for up to three outstanding graduate students in the research programs of UNC Lineberger faculty members with active, peer-reviewed grant support.

UNC Lineberger faculty members are encouraged to nominate students from any of the basic research disciplines who have published at least one paper at minimum.

These endowments come from gifts supported by members of the UNC Lineberger Board of Visitors. Recognition through this award is intended to encourage excellence in basic research, promote recruitment of high quality students, and stimulate cancer-related basic research.

The 2024 application period is now open. Deadline to apply is March 15, 2024 11:59pm EST.

Award Amount

$3,000 per award.


Students in any of the basic research disciplines who have a minimum of one published paper, and graduate students who have been enrolled at UNC-Chapel Hill at any time during the award cycle.

Selection Criteria

Selection of outstanding graduate students will be based on their total body of work in graduate school, including academic research activities, conferences, meetings attended, presentations/posters, and extracurricular activities as reflected in their record and supporting letters. Applications will be reviewed by the UNC Lineberger Award Committee.


To apply, please submit the following required documents to the form linked below:

  • Curriculum vitae
  • A one-to-two-page, single-spaced research description.
  • Letters of support from the faculty sponsor, department chair, and one other reference
    • The faculty sponsor should have active, peer-reviewed grant support and be a UNC Lineberger member
    • The three reference letters can be included in the application form.

Applications are now open, please apply by March 15, 2024 at 11:59pm EST.


Questions? Email:

View list of recipients of the Graduate Fellow Awards in Basic Science