Skip to main content

The UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center solicits nominations for the annual Pope Clinical Trainee Awards, funded by the John William Pope Foundation, to honor outstanding clinical trainees for their cancer research accomplishments and clinical excellence.

These awards recognize outstanding senior fellows or residents (MD and MD/PhD) for performance of a cancer-related clinical or translational research project (abstract or full publication) and for demonstration of excellence in clinical cancer care.

Nominations may come from any cancer-related clinical discipline.

The application period is closed. 

Nominations should include:

  • 1-2 page letter from a faculty mentor describing the nominee and their clinical research achievement
  • A short letter of endorsement from the fellow/residency director regarding clinical excellence
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • 1 page description of the research submitted by the trainee

For any questions about this award, please contact

Current Awardees

Andrew Abumoussa, MD, MSc – Neurosurgery

Ryan Morse, MD – Radiation Oncology

Welsey Stepp, MD, PhD – Otolaryngology

Gabriel Ologun, MD – General Surgery

Previous Awardees


Jeremy Meier, MD, PhD (Division of Hematology, Department of Medicine)

Kathryn H. Gessner, MD, PhD (Department of Urology)

Joannie Ivory, MD, MSPH (Division of Oncology, Department of Medicine)


Xavier Baldwin, MD (Department of Surgery)

Lindsey Buckingham, MD (Division of Gynecologic Oncology)

Ibardo Zambrano, MD (Department of Urology)

Christopher Jensen, MD (Division of Hematology & Oncology)


Joshua Herb, MD (Division of Surgical Oncology)

Chelsea Osterman, MD (Division of Hematology & Oncology)


Steven Johnson, MD (Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

Stephen Kimani, MD (Division of Hematology & Oncology)

Vaibhav Kumar, MD (Division of Hematology & Oncology)

Stephanie Lumpkin, MD (Department of Surgery)


Pauline Filippou, MD (Department of Urology)

Matthew Painschab, MD (Division of Hematology)


Tyler Ellis, MD (Department of Surgery)

Aaron Mitchell, MD (Division of Hematology & Oncology)

Kyle Wang, MD (Department of Radiation Oncology)

Kate Westmoreland, MD (Department of Pediatrics)