Post-doctoral fellows Matthew Walker, PhD; Jinchuan Hu, PhD; and John Poulton, PhD, are the recipients of the Joseph S. Pagano Award for a paper published in 2014.

The Pagano Award was established in 2002 to honor outstanding papers by postdoctoral fellows who are first authors of these papers. Winners are selected through a competitive process and are honored for their authorship of articles in high-impact journals.

The paper authored by Matthew Walker, PhD, is “FOXP1 Potentiates Wnt/β-catenin Signaling in Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma” published in Science Signaling. Dr. Walker is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of M. Ben Major, PhD.

The paper authored by Yinchuan Hu, PhD, is “Genome-wide analysis of human global and transcription-coupled excision repair of UV damage at single-nucleotide resolution” published in Genes & Development. Dr. Hu is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Aziz Sancar, MD, PhD.

The paper authored by John Poulton, PhD, is “Acentrosomal Drosophila epithelial cells exhibit abnormal cell division, leading to cell death and compensatory proliferation” published in Developmental Cell. Dr. Poulton is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Mark Peifer, PhD.

Members of the Pagano Award selection committee include Joseph Pagano, MD; Bernard Weissman, PhD; Albert Baldwin, PhD; Channing Der, PhD; and Brian Strahl, PhD.