Mina Hosseinipour

Mina Hosseinipour, MD, MPH, is a UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center member and Professor of Medicine.

Mina Hosseinipour

Professor of Medicine
UNC- Chapel Hill

130 Mason Farm Rd, Bioinformatics BLDG
Campus Box 7030
Chapel Hill NC

Area of interest

Mina Hosseinipour is an infectious diseases physician and Professor of medicine at UNC-Chapel Hill who has lived and worked in Malawi since 2001. During her time in Malawi, she developed strong working relationships with the Ministry of Health, the University of Malawi College of Medicine, and the Kamuzu Central Hospital. She has been the investigator of record for the NIH AACTG (AIDS Clinical Trials Group) and HPTN (HIV Prevention Trials Unit) clinical trials that have been conducted at the Lilongwe site and has a strong record of independent research based on the evaluation of the Malawi national ART and PMTCT program. With the recent re-competition of the NIH networks, she now serves as the Co-Principal Investigator for our Clinical Trials Unit. She also serve as the co-Chair of ACTG 5264/AMC 067, a randomized clinical trial comparing immediate vs. deferred chemotherapy among HIV infected patients with limited stage Kaposi’s Sarcoma (KS).

Awards and Honors

  • Katerva Awards Human Development Finalist for HPTN 052, 2011
  • Charles C Shepherd Science Award, Prevention and Control for the BAN study, 2010
  • Frank Porter Graham Honor Society, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, 2008
  • Certificate of Knowledge in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. 2000.
  • Gorgas Course in Tropical Medicine, Diploma recipient 1999.
  • Achievement in Ambulatory Care Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine. 1998
  • 1st place Oswald Research and Creativity Award, Engineering, University of Kentucky, 1991
  • 1st place American Institute of Chemical Engineers Annual Student Poster competition, Chicago IL 1990
  • 3rd place American Institute of Chemical Engineers Southern Regional Student competition, Atlanta. GA 1991
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers Chapter Award for Academic Achievement, 1989
  • University of Kentucky Academic Excellence Scholarship
  • University of Kentucky Vice Chancellor’s Scholarship

Find publications on PubMed 

Reach NC profile

Filed under: