Skip to main content
Headshot of Deb Mayer
Deborah Mayer, PhD, ANP-BC, AOCN, FAAN.

Deborah K. Mayer, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN, a pioneer in the field of cancer survivorship, will be honored with the Joseph Simone Quality Care Award and Lecture at the 2023 American Society of Clinical Oncology Quality Care Symposium in Boston on Friday, Oct. 27. In addition to receiving the award, Mayer will present a lecture, “Reflections on Improving Cancer Care: How Can We Do Better for Our Patients and Ourselves?”

Mayer is recognized nationally for her work developing innovative interventions and programs to enhance the well-being of cancer survivors and their families as well as her contributions to the advancement of cancer care delivery. As a cancer survivor, she has firsthand knowledge about the needs and challenges of people living with cancer.

“It is quite an honor to receive this award, especially as the first nurse to do so,” Mayer said. “I worked with Joe Simone on some committees in Washington and have great respect for him and the important work he did, so this is very meaningful to be acknowledged by my peers at ASCO.”

Mayer is the Frances Hill Fox Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the UNC School of Nursing and member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center. She was formerly coordinator of the adult and gerontology nurse practitioner program at the UNC School of Nursing and director of the cancer survivorship program at UNC Lineberger.

She has served as the interim director of the National Cancer Institute’s Office of Cancer Survivorship, was a member of the NCI National Cancer Advisory Board (a Presidential appointment) and the NCI Board of Scientific Advisors, and she was the only nurse appointed to Vice President Biden’s Cancer Moonshot Blue Ribbon Panel. She also has served as the president of the Oncology Nursing Society and as chair of the ASCO Survivorship Committee.

Mayer is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, has served as the editor for the Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing and authored more than 200 cancer publications. She is a recipient of the Oncology Nursing Society Lifetime Achievement Award and the Ellen L. Stovall Award from the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship.

ASCO established the Joseph Simone Quality Care Award in 2016 and in honor and recognize Joseph V. Simone, MD, FASCO, for his significant and enduring contributions to the quality and safety of cancer care.