Skip to main content

E. Claire Dees, MD, associate professor of medicine, and Peter Voorhees, MD, associate professor of medicine, have been appointed to leadership positions in UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Dees will serve as medical director of the Clinical Protocol Office and Dr. Voorhees will serve as chair of the Protocol Review Committee.

E. Claire Dees, MD, and Peter Voorhees, MD

Lisa Carey, MD, said, “Dr. Dees is exceptionally well suited to lead the Clinical Protocol Office. As a phase I trialist and active clinician who has developed and led multiple studies, in combination with her history of leadership in the CPO as well as the Protocol Review Committee, she brings the perfect skills to manage our clinical research both in Chapel Hill and across the state. Pete Voorhees is a dedicated and respected oncologist and thoughtful clinical trial leader. He rose to a leadership role in the Protocol Review Committee while still a junior investigator, and is a perfect choice to assume the chair role.”

Dr. Carey, the Richardson and Marilyn Jacobs Preyer Distinguished Professor in Breast Cancer Research, is Physician-in Chief of the N.C. Cancer Hospital and Chief of the Division of Hematology and Oncology in the Department of Medicine. She also serves as Associate Director of Clinical Research for UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and as Medical Director of the UNC Breast Center.

The Clinical Protocol Office provides centralized management and oversight of clinical trials including protocol registration, regulatory affairs, patient management, and compliance committee work. The Protocol Review Committee is a multidisciplinary standing committee charged with the peer review of local and national research protocols involving cancer patients or a focus on cancer to ensure the scientific quality and patient safety of proposed studies.

Dr. Dees currently co-leads the UNC Lineberger Clinical Research Program and leads the Early Phase Clinical Research Unit. Dr. Dees previously chaired the Protocol Review Committee. She is a medical oncologist with the UNC Breast Center. She joined the UNC faculty in 1999.

A medical oncologist, Dr. Voorhees directs the UNC Myeloma Program. He joined the UNC faculty in 2004 and has previously served as the co-chair of the Protocol Review Committee.