Skip to main content

The UNC School of Medicine Office of Graduate Education presented mentorship awards to four UNC Lineberger members, Jessica Bowser, PhD, Sharon Campbell, PhD, Charles Perou, PhD, and Will Valdar, PhD.

Each year the Office of Graduate Education recognizes faculty mentors affiliated with the Biological and Biomedical Sciences Program who embody innovative and student-centered training of graduate trainees. Early-career faculty are eligible for the Nova Award for Mentoring, and faculty with a longer track record of mentoring can be honored with the Award for Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring.

Bowser, assistant professor of pathology & laboratory medicine, received the Nova Award for Mentoring. Campbell, the Gary F. Liebscher Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Perou, the May Goldman Shaw Distinguished Professor of Genetics and Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, and Valdar, professor of genetics, were each presented with the Award for Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring.

These awards recognize faculty members who create a supportive environment for trainee growth, clearly articulate expectations, value diversity and belonging, show respect for trainees, facilitate trainee career development, and provide opportunities to network both within and beyond their scientific field of interest.